Greater KC Alumnae Panhellenic Women of the Year and Scholarship Brunch

The 2022 Panhellenic Brunch, themed ‘Friendship in Bloom,’ drew over 200 sorority alumnae to the Indian Hills Country Club on Saturday, April 23, 2022, for a wonderful program, great food and conversations with a focus on fundraising for college scholarships.

Alpha Chi Omega sisters turned out in force to celebrate Tammy Hawks, Omicron (Baker University) ’69 being installed as the Greater Kansas City Alumnae Panhellenic President for the 2022-23 term, an honor each sorority can hold every 23 years as the office rotates through each Panhellenic sorority.

We additionally honored three years’ worth of Women of the Year: 2021-2022 Whitney Schmale, Zeta Sigma (Missouri State University) ’91; 2020-2021 Stephanie Lower, Zeta Sigma ’09; and 2019-2020 Janice Ryan, Gamma Zeta (Kansas State University) ’67. We had the largest representation with four tables seating 31. The Brunch was the first held since the 2018-2019 women were honored.

A total of 18 current WOY recipients were individually honored and recognized. WOYs from prior years attending the brunch were acknowledged from their seats.

Other AXs honored during the event included Nancy Neal, Xi (University of Nebraska-Lincoln) ’52, the last AX member to hold the office of GKCAP President. And Diane Blackwelder, Omicron (Baker University) ’67, the only member in the room to have served as a national sorority officer. Many of our 50-year members also stood when recognized.

Dr. Darcy Russell, Zeta Tau Alpha, and Dean of the College of Arts and Sciences at Baker University, delivered an uplifting speech.

Amazing shopping opportunities included a gift card pull, a 50-bottle wine pull, Pickwick candles and silent auction items. All were sold out. Three of six scholarship recipients attended the event and were introduced to the audience. A total of $12,000 was awarded to six collegians this year.

Installation of officers was conducted by the Ex-Officio, Joanna Glaze, Pi Beta Phi. Other officers installed include: Sara Bedwell, Alpha Delta Pi, as Vice President; Robin Crick, Kappa Delta, as Secretary; Amy Aldridge, Zeta Tau Alpha, as Treasurer and LaTasha James, Phi Mu, as incoming Ex-Officio.

Centerpieces of the Panhellenic flower (spring bucket containers holding sunflowers) were given to the member at each table who had the longest sorority membership in years. Cindy Nicholson, Gamma Psi (Wichita State University) ’62; Marcia Bowerman, Omicron (Baker University) ’67; and Nancy Neal won the prizes for Alpha Chi.

Mu Mu members gathered afterwards at the photo backdrop to have a video taken for a Headquarters National Convention project. Credit to Kory Lower, Stephanie’s husband, for filming the video of sisters singing a favorite AX tune.